logo Society of Chinese Bioscientist in America (SCBA) chinese title




cn tower image



The Society of Chinese Bioscientists in America (SCBA) is a non-profit international scientific organization affiliated with Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) established in 1984.

About Toronto Chapter

Toronto Chapter was launched in 1986 (by Drs. Choong-Chin Liew, Choy Hew and others). Currently, there are 54 members including 34 lifetime-members.

Goal of Toronto Chapter

To promote research and academic excellence and to increase visibility of the SCBA community through:


President (2011-2013)

Dr. Zhong-Ping Feng, Associate Professor, Department of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine University of Toronto

Executive Committee (2011-2013)

President: Zhong-Ping Feng zp.feng@utoronto.ca

President-elected: Fei-Fei Liu fei-fei.liu@rmp.uhn.on.ca

Past President: Li Zhang lzhang@uhnresearch.ca

Liaison of SCBA headquarter office: Jim Hu jim.hu@utoronto.ca

Treasurer: Mingyao Liu mingyao.liu@utoronto.ca

Secretary: Tianru Jin tianru.jin@utoronto.ca

Membership and nomination: Burton Yang burton.yang@sw.ca

Scientific officer: Ming Tsao Ming.Tsao@uhn.on.ca

Awards committee: Qinghua Wang WangQ@smh.ca

Communication: Hong-Shuo Sun hss.sun@utoronto.ca

Member in large: Peter Liu peter.liu@utoronto.ca

Member in large: Heyu Ni heyu.ni@utoronto.ca


Past Presidents

2009-2010 Dr. Li Zhang

2008-2009 Dr. Burton Yang

2007-2008 Dr. Ming-Sound Tsao

2005-2007 Dr. Tianru Jin

2004-2005 Dr. Peter Liu

2002–2004 Dr. Mingyao Liu

2000-2002 Dr. Jim Hu

1998-1999 Dr. Choy Leong Hew

1986-1997 Dr. Choong-Chin Liew